Five Long Years!


Five years ago today I started this little blog. It started as a way for my friends to track my progress on a bet that I could/couldn’t attend 100 sporting events in a year. The events had to be college or pro to count, and having a full time job made it a tough task. I started this site when I was about 2/3 of the way done. I had just bought a new camera, and I wanted to show off a few of the pictures that I took.

Kory Sheets diving for a touchdown against Ball State

My first real post was on the Ball State game at Purdue. I only included one picture, but it is one of my favorites still. The picture shows Korey Sheets reaching out while being tackled to score a touchdown. I had no idea what any of the buttons did on my camera at the time, but I did manage to get the shot.

In the beginning the posts were very short. The bare minimum of information was given along with a picture. The posts look a little weird now for a couple of reasons. One of them is that I have switched over from Blogger to WordPress so the formatting is off. The second reason is how short I made them. I am long winded by nature, and it surprises me that I kept it so short. Of course that did not last for long as I started to see some people look at my blog. As the numbers grew so did my post length. I think I am still trying to find my way as far as post length goes. I have other things taking up my time now so I don’t devote as much time to this blog as I would like. I would cut out everything that I don’t excel at, but that would leave this blog empty. I think that for the time being I will try and just give my perspective on the games that I attend with a few pictures that I like. You won’t get analysis out of me too often.

Today is another gameday so it is fitting that I celebrate five years of this blog at a Purdue football game. I might have a special post tomorrow showing the gameday experience at Purdue. I love everything about it, and for once it would not hurt to show it on here. Most of what I love has shown up at one time or another.

Later today I would like to post another entry that I have not had in a while. I love little top ten lists. To celebrate ten years of boring people online I thought that I would post my top ten favorite pictures to make this blog. Some of them might be obvious, but some of them might not be so obvious.

Leave a Reply

