College Basketball Game of the Week (Week 7 Edition)


This post is a little late this week, but with the holidays what isn’t? I am going to use the holidays as my excuse as to why I am not as prepared as I should be for this post. With everything that has been going on around here with Christmas I have really been slacking on being a sports junkie. That should all change this week. I will not go into great detail about this weeks games, but the Big Ten season is finally upon us. No more teams coming into Mackey with names I have never heard of. These are the big dogs coming up. Each game is just as important as any other. I am excited to see how the sold out crowds react to the Big Ten season at Mackey. Of course that is after the New Year’s Eve game against Northwestern as the students will still be on break. The games really just aren’t the same without them there. Luckily we only have one more game like that this season. I really enjoy the atmosphere they bring to the arena. I guess we will have to wait one more game for that. The men open up the Big Ten slate at Michigan. I will not be there, but I will be in Valpo since that game was part of the package I got to get the Purdue ticket. I have already been to Michigan so I would like to save a road trip for a place that I have not seen yet. I will be at both of the Big Ten home openers, and I am sure that I will see enough games this year. Maybe next week I will actually have enough time to put out a decent game of the week post. For now though here are my week seven picks.

Men’s Picks of the Week – Last week I took more losses than I had the entire season so far. I only went 6-6. That is not good. I guess I had a little too much faith in the Big Ten. I needed a little stronger preseason so that the Big Ten season wouldn’t hurt me so bad. With the league beating up on each other I am sure that will hurt me as well. Here are this week’s picks.

  • Penn State over Indiana
  • #2 Ohio State over Tennessee-Martin
  • #24 Wisconsin over #13 Minnesota
  • #25 Illinois over Iowa
  • #2 Ohio State over Indiana
  • #19 Michigan State over #13 Minnesota
  • #15 Notre Dame over #9 Georgetown
  • Valpo over Ball State
  • #11 Purdue over Michigan
  • #11 Purdue over Northwestern

Women’s Picks of the Week – This week the tables were turned. Instead of tanking on the women’s picks I actually did alright. I just tanked on the men’s picks. Here are this week’s picks. Due to the lack of games I threw in a couple Notre Dame games just to get over ten picks.

  • #12 Ohio State over Duquesne
  • Cal over Illinois
  • Penn State over Bucknell
  • Northwestern over Indiana
  • #12 Ohio State over Michigan
  • #13 Iowa over Penn State
  • Minnesota over Illinois
  • Notre Dame over Gonzaga
  • Notre Dame over Loyola Marymount
  • Purdue over Western Illinois
  • Purdue over Wisconsin
Leave a Reply

