The White Sox Are Finally Making Some News


Adam Dunn against the Cardinals in 2009

The last couple of days have been huge for White Sox fans. First off I heard the news yesterday that the Sox had declined the option on Erick Threets. What huge news. Oh yeah they also declined a guy named Bobby Jenks as well. They did pick up the option on Alexei Ramirez which I would think is no shock to anyone. I thought at the time that the White Sox finally had something going on this off season. Within minutes of hearing all of that news I started seeing rumors about Adam Dunn coming to the Sox. After the trade deadline rumors I thought there was nothing to the news. Of course everything turned out to be true this time. The Sox will have a big left handed bat this coming season. Earlier today I heard that when he walked out onto the field in Chicago he asked if anyone had hit the Miller Lite billboard way out in right field. I like that kind of thinking, and hope that he is the first to hit it. I saw him play a couple times with the Reds, and most recently with the Nationals in 2009. He hit a 426 foot bomb the day after my birthday while playing in St. Louis that was a sight to see. He is the definition of power hitter that should be fun to watch.

I thought that some moves had been made so maybe things would be quiet for a while. That was not the case. The Sox kept things going today by trading Scott Linebrink to the Braves for a AA pitcher. This move freed up enough salary that the Sox were able to make a last minute call to A.J. Pierzynski to make an offer. From what I read the whole process only took about ten minutes, and AJ is coming back to the South Side next season. I really love watching AJ play the game. He plays with a passion that is hard to match. That passion draws the ire of the other teams, but that is what makes him so great. I am glad that he will be handling the pitchers again this season. I thought that the last game of the season would be the last time that I saw AJ in a White Sox uniform. I guess I was wrong. Although I don’t think that he thought he would be back with the Sox.

All of this news leaves one main person out of the picture. Paul Konerko is still out there. When Dunn was signed yesterday the reports were that Pauly was right behind him. The word from Kenny Williams was that Paulie was the first priority, then AJ. Both AJ and Dunn reportedly structured their deals so that the Sox had enough money to bring Paulie back. Kenny is supposedly meeting in the next few days with Paulies agent to try and sign him. It would be great to see him back with the Sox as well. Get it done Kenny!

With Kenny Williams you rarely hear anything until the deal is done. So for the next few months it will be interesting to see what he comes up with. He is not a guy to stand pat. He has already said that Carlos Quentin will be the right fielder next season. With just a few months in between now and spring training the 2011 Sox team is starting to take shape.

 

Leave a Reply

