Ohio State Dominates Final Period For Win


Buckeye players celebrate the game winning goal

Saturday night I was in Ewigleben Ice Arena to see Ferris State take on Ohio State. After what Ohio State did to my Boilers earlier in the day I really wanted to see them lose at hockey. Sadly they did not. I still had a great time at the game. This was my first time shooting a hockey game with my camera, and I learned a lot real fast. I know that hockey is a fast sport, but through a camera lens against the glass it is super fast. Once I got the feel for the speed down on the ice though I had a good time. Some of the pictures not included in this post will show up on this site over the next couple of days. I have about thirty other pictures that I will post in two segments. This was my first hockey game in about 3 1/2 years. I will have to see another one much quicker than that. 

Mike Embach shoots during warmups

The arena was actually pretty loud, and it got a lot louder when Mike Embach scored a power play goal early in the game to put Ferris State up 1-0. Ohio State answered with a power play goal of their own less than two minutes later when Danny Dries scored. With just over a minute left in the first period Shane Sims put Ohio State up 2-1 with the first even handed goal of the night.

Bulldogs senior captain Zach Redmond skating before the game

Three minutes into the second period Kyle Bonis scored another even handed goal to tie the game up. He had a nice put back on a rebound. It was at this point that I decided to leave my seat, and go sit behind the Ohio State goal. It was from this vantage point that I saw senior captain Zach Redmond put the Bulldogs ahead with a nice slap shot from in front of the net. I actually got the shot on camera, but a Ohio State defenseman skated right into the way. I guess you win some and you lose some. Redmond had an assist on the day as well. The score remained at 3-2 going into the second intermission. To this point I really think that Ferris State was the better team.

Sergio Somma moves the puck around in the 3rd period

Ohio State came out firing in the third period. I remarked early on in the period that they seemed to be on a mission. They clearly wanted the game more than Ferris State did. They scored all three goals in the final period to win the game 5-3. Ohio State outshot the Bulldogs 16-3 in the final period. They really poured it on. Sergio Somma tied the game with a power play goal about seven minutes into the period. About four minutes later John Albert scored another power play goal to put Ohio State up for good. Albert added an empty netter with thirty seconds left to give the Buckeyes the final score of the game. Albert accounted for all three third period goals. He assisted on Somma’s game tying goal, netted the game winner, and iced the game with the empty netter. I would say that he had a good period. His parents were sitting just to my left, and it was great to see their joy as their son did well. That is part of what makes college sports so great.

I had a great time at my first hockey game in a while. I may have had too much fun taking pictures so as I said I will have a couple posts later in the week with some of the better ones.

Leave a Reply

