A Bye Week For the Junkie


This week Purdue has a bye week. I had planned to see some kind of football game, but decided to just stay home instead. Trips to Toledo, Eastern Michigan, Western Michigan, Central Michigan, Illinois State, Indiana State, and the University of Chicago were all planned. In the end I just decided to stay home.

Next week Purdue is at Northwestern. At the beginning of the season it was a sure thing that I would be at that game. The schedule was such that it would be easy to attend every game. It is going to be hard to go to every game if the team plays like they have been. I may make a trip up to Grand Valley State next week to watch the #1 team in Division 2.

Predictions: Just because I am not going to a game does not mean that I can’t make predictions. Big Ten play starts this week so I will have to widen my scope when it comes to picks. I thought this week I would pick the Big Ten games and a couple of the games that I almost went to. Here is how I did last week:

#16 Stanford 35 (37) – Notre Dame 27 (14)

#2 Ohio State 52 (73) – Eastern Michigan 10 (20)

#6 Nebraska 56 (17) – South Dakota St. 0 (3)

#23 Penn State 35 (22) – Temple 10 (13)

#21 Michigan 41 (65) – Bowling Green 24 (21)

#18 Iowa 41 (45) – Ball State 7 (0)

#11 Wisconsin 51 (70) – Austin Peay 0 (3)

#25 Michigan State 45 (45) – Northern Colorado 3 (7)

Northwestern 27 (35) – Central Michigan 24 (20)

Game of the Week: Purdue 48 (20) – Toledo 17 (31)

As you can see I went 9-1 last week. That brings my overall record to 37-3 on the season. One team has accounted for all three of those losses. Once again Purdue is the team that killed me. I could not have been more wrong with my prediction. Thankfully I don’t have to pick that game this week. With the start of Big Ten play I expect my decent record so far to start to fall apart. Here are this weeks games:

Northwestern 27 – Minnesota 10

#2 Ohio State 35 – Illinios 17

#11 Wisconsin 30 – #24 Michigan State 28

#19 Michigan 42 – Indiana 27

#17 Iowa 20 – #22 Penn State 13

Boston College 23 – Notre Dame 20

#1 Alabama 27 – #7 Florida 20

#8 Oklahoma 30 – #21 Texas 17

#4 Oregon 35 – #9 Stanford 24

Eastern Michigan 17 – Ohio 10

Leave a Reply

