White Sox Finally Score Some Runs, Can’t Stop the Yankees


Yesterday I went to the Sox game to see the boys take on the Yankees. John Danks was pitching against C.C. Sabathia. I really thought that we were going to see a pitching duel. What we saw was Johnny Danks giving up runs. He gave up eight runs and put the Sox in a hole that they couldn’t get out of. The day started off much better than it ended though. My brother and I went to the game early to watch batting practice. I had my mitt and he didn’t so I thought that I had a pretty good chance to get a ball before he did. We stopped in right center where I usually stand to try and get a ball. After a couple of near misses Derek Jeter hit a ball that popped off some hands in the first row, and right in front of my brother. He reached over the seat to pick it up, and was ahead 1-0. That is the only ball that we got on the day, but he later gave it to me as a birthday present.

Jeter walked to start the game, and then scored when Nick Swisher hit a two out, two strike, two run home run to put the Yankees up early. Nick got booed every time that his name was announced, but I think that he actually liked getting booed. The Yankees scored most of their runs with two outs, and hit four home runs on the day.

The star of the game had to be rookie Eduardo Nunez. He was just called up about a week and a half ago to the big league club. With Alex Rodriguez on the disabled list he has gotten some playing time. He made the most of it last night going 3-4 with a walk, and drove in four runs. He hit his first career home run in the second inning, and stole his first career base in the 5th.

The White Sox did have some highlights on the night. Both Alexei and Pauly hit homers. Pauly drove in three runs on the night, and was 3-5. Birthday boy Carlos Quentin had a rough day at the plate going 1-5. His double play ball against Mariano Rivera in the ninth all but killed the Sox rally. They made it close though in the ninth, and gave the fans a thrill in the end. All I ask sometimes is that the team has a chance. After being down five going into the Mark Teahen was up at the plate as the tying run.

Today I am heading back to the Cell to see the Sox play the Yankees again. I normally don’t do back to back games, but it is Frank Thomas day so I will make an exception. Frank was a huge part of the resurgence of the Sox in the 1990’s. He will get his number retired today, and I am sure that a statue will be along shortly for the Big Hurt. Sadly though my best memory of Frank is not in a Sox uniform. I was at the Cell when Thomas came back as a member of the Oakland Athletics. The picture above was taken during Frank’s first at bat as a member of the other team. The fans gave Frank a huge ovation when he was introduced that stopped the game. He then took a Jon Garland pitch deep for his first home run against his former team. The crowd quickly booed him. That is the nature of the Chicago fan. He would hit his second homer of the game later on. The Sox won the game in the tenth so it was a great game for me to see.

Leave a Reply

