Silverhawks Are Not Rattled By Errors


Once again I have too much to talk about in one post so I will break it up into two. Part of the trouble with being the sports junkie is that I receive messages from ball clubs. One of those told me that their was going to be a doubleheader last night on dollar Monday. Two games for one dollar! Of course I was going. The problem with dollar Monday is that the crowd is usually their for everything but the game. Take this kid above. I think he may have had some brewskis earlier in the day. He had this popcorn hat on for most of the day. He did provide some entertainment to us though, and he was having a blast. That is what going to the park is all about.

One of the reasons that I wanted to see the Timber Rattlers play was to see the sons of two former Major League players. One of them got the start in game one. Cutter Dykstra is the son of former Mets and Phillies center fielder Lenny Dykstra. Cutter showed signs of his dads temperament when he struck out looking in the sixth. He spent the break in between innings yelling obscenities into his mitt. I didn’t want to be the one to tell him, but the mitt does not cancel out sounds. I could hear him all the way up at the top of my section. I know all the words that he was saying, but I don’t think I have heard them all together since I saw George Carlin in action. He is shown above in a moment between the cussing thinking of new words to say.

Wisconsin scored three runs on three hits on the night. They took a quick 1-0 lead in the first inning that held up until the Silverhawks scored two in the fourth. The Timber Rattlers took advantage of two errors in the top of the sixth to go back up by one in the abbreviated seven inning game. It looked like the Hawks had shot themselves in the foot. They got two runs in the bottom of the inning though courtesy of a two run homer by David Nick. David has only hit four home runs on the season, but I have seen two and they have been huge. He was definitely the player of the game. He picked up Errol Hollinger and David Narodowski who both made errors earlier in the inning. The rally started in the fifth after the seventh inning stretch was performed due to the shorter game. With the win the Hawks record improved to 11-17 in the second half of the season. David is shown above in the field with the Silverhawks retired numbers in the background.

Leave a Reply

