Another Great Day at the Cell


Last night at the Cell I was worried. As I waited to get in the rain started. This is not a terrible thing in July, but in May when the temperature is in the low 40’s it really can make things worse. As I walked down towards the field they were putting the tarp on the field. They pulled it on and off the field multiple times. The Sodfather was even having trouble trying to figure out if it was going to rain or not. Knowing how quickly things can change next to the lake I was prepared. I had on enough clothes to keep me warm in December (which it was close to temp wise). The only good thing to come of the weather was the fact that it got me a great seat for the game. I had an upper deck ticket, but used my trick to get into the lower deck. Once there I sat in straight up from first base. I talked to the usher who asked me if that was my seat. I just explained that it was raining, and I was just staying dry there. The usher said that I could stay there until I was kicked out. I lasted all nine innings in that seat. What a great view to see Peavy pitch.

And boy did Peavy pitch last night. He had a perfect game going into the sixth. He is finally pitching like the guy that we knew we were getting twice last season. He gave up two home runs, but other than that he was lights out. The Blue Jays who are off to a great offensive start this season looked out of wack. They had no idea what was coming to them. Jake did a good job keeping them off balance all night long. I thought that he was done after seven because of his pitch count. He came back out for the eighth, and ended up throwing 119 pitches. What a performance! I think that he will quickly become a fan favorite on the South Side. From a photography perspective he is hard to get a handle on. His delivery is not one to capture from the side. I would bet he would be something from straight on though. He is best from the side though after the ball leaves his hand. His facial expressions are priceless. I hope that I get to see him pitch a few more times before it is all said and done.

Andruw Jones is quickly becoming my favorite player to photograph. He always has a smile on his face, and he has a great swing. The picture above shows Andruw just after he hit his triple off the left center wall. What a beautiful long swing the man has. Even when he strikes out he gives you something to photograph. His follow through took him right into John Buck’s path last night, and he was called for interference. He might be the most photographed player on the team by the end of the season. I am glad that we picked him up in the off season. Kenny Williams looks like a genius yet again. For more pictures of Andruw throughout the season just click on the link to access my facebook page. I have many shots on there from the Sox this season.

The other story of the night was the Sox offense, and in particular Paul Konerko. Pauly hit yet another dinger last night. That brings his league leading total up to 13. He has hit a home run in 3 of the 4 games I have attended this season. The only game that he did not was Wednesday when I had the Konerko shirt on. I guess I will have to leave that shirt at home from now on. The rest of the club came to play as well. They were patient at the plate, and made the pitcher make the mistakes. This is the club that we came out to see. Not the guys who can’t even scratch a couple of runs across the plate. Walks and clutch hits seemed to be the order of the day. If they can get it going on a cold night like last night, who knows what the season will hold. I for one think that they can turn this thing around.

I know just the way to do it too. I have been to four of the teams thirteen wins this season. I think that I may be the key. I may have to just start going to all the games. I need the team to back me up on this, and provide the tickets. Who can argue with a 4-0 record to start the season?

Leave a Reply

