Game Preview: Grand Valley State v. Carson – Newman


This week I am going to brave the frozen tundra of Lubbers Stadium to see the semi-final matchup between the Grand Valley State Lakers and the Carson – Newman Eagles. Carson Newman did a very good job of stopping the North Alabama offense last week to advance. This week they will have to face Grand Valley’s offense with a trip to Florence, Alabama on the line. I was in Lubber’s in 2006 when they beat Delta State to advance to the title game. I was also in Florence the following week when Grand Valley won the title. I hope that some of that magic rubs off again this weekend. That night in 2006 was great with the students taking down the goalposts. We were part of the mob out on the field. Their is nothing like winning the big game, and for this week this is the big game. It may not have the billing that the Florida – Alabama game does or for that matter the Texas – Nebraska game, but it is huge for many people. See you in Allendale on Saturday.

This will be my second trip to Lubber’s Stadium this season. The first did not go so well. I was stopped after I entered the stadium and told that I could not have my camera bag inside the stadium. I missed the first quarter going back to my car to put everything away. This week I hope that I find someone who will not try and be a badass because he can. I would very much like to see the opening portion of this game.

Predictions: Last week I went 5-1 on my predictions to bring my record to 46-21 on the season. The lone game that I lost was my upset pick of the week. Eastern Michigan came within a touchdown of finally getting a win. This week I will try my hand at a few of the Conference Championship games as well as the two Division II semis this week. Of course I will pick the two remaining Big Ten games as well. Here are my picks for this week:

#1 Florida 28 – #2 Alabama 27
Wisconsin 28 – Hawaii 17
Illinois 24 – Fresno State 21
#5 Cincinnati 35 – #15 Pittsburgh 28
#3 Texas 42 – #22 Nebraska 24
Northwest Missouri State 35 – California (PA) 17
#3 Grand Valley State 21 – #10 Carson – Newman 10
Leave a Reply

