Where is My White Towel?


Last night started off decent enough. After driving through rain the entire way to the stadium I walked in to see the sun out and batting practice underway. I did not get a ball, but was able to see the sweet swing of Joe Mauer for a while. When batting practice was over I had my two slices of Connie’s and found a seat a couple rows back of the Twins bullpen. I watched former Notre Dame pitcher Jeff Manship warm up with Mauer in the bullpen getting a couple cool pictures of each. I stayed in the seats behind the bullpen for the first couple of innings.
Once the game started it was a completely different story. The Sox were down 3-0 before they even came to bat. Two of those runs were thanks to a two run homer by Orlando Cabrera. Welcome home I guess. For some reason he was never liked too much in Chicago, and that shot did not endear him to the fans anymore. The Twins scored eight runs overall on the night. Five of those runs came courtesy of four home runs. Danks gave up three of them in six innings pitched. He settled down after a rough first inning, but had another rough one in the sixth giving up home runs to Matt Tolbert and Michael Cuddyer. Tolbert’s home run barely cleared the wall in left. In fact Quentin had his mitt on it over the wall, but his mitt fell into the bullpen with the ball. The play happened right in front of the seats I moved into in left field. Jason Kubel hit one in the eighth off of Dotel to finish off the Twins scoring on the night. The White Sox got one back in the bottom of the first when Scotty Pods walked, stole second, and came around to score on a Pierzynski ground out. They added three in the third on a solo shot by Alex Rios, and a two run shot by Gordon Beckham. For some reason Pods had to run back from third, hold up Beckham, and tag second again on the play. The picture to the left shows the confusion at second after Beckham’s home run. Gordon just watched Pods wondering what was going on. This moment would end Pods productivity for the night. Gordon would score again in the fifth when he walked after being down 0-2 in the count. He had a great at bat, and scored from first on a two out double by Pauly. Pauly ended up stranded at third that inning, but took matters into his own hands in the eighth when he hit a solo shot to pull the Sox to within two. That is all the closer they would get though as they lost 8-6. I am one of the biggest optimists that you will find, and even I think the season is ova. I am going to tonight’s game with the knowledge in my mind that it will be my last this season. Maybe they can put on a show to send me out in style. Beckham seems to like when I come to the games. He hits a lot of his home runs when I am in attendance. Put me on the payroll White Sox!
One thought on “Where is My White Towel?

  1. I'm almost glad that my tickets fell through for last night's game, but I still wish that I had went just to see the Rios homer in person. Plus, win or lose, it's always a fun time at USCF.

Leave a Reply

