I Must Really Enjoy Watching Athletics


Today I am headed back to the Cell (weather permitting) to watch the Sox for a second day in a row. I had some vouchers that I bought earlier in the season that I had to use up. This was one of the games that I could use so I did. I also used the vouchers to get tickets for the Tuesday – Wednesday games later in the month with the Twins. If anyone wants to go to the Wednesday Twins game let me know I have an extra. If I had used this voucher earlier in the year to see the A’s I would have been able to see such players as Matt Holliday, Orlando Cabrera, or Jason Giambi. Those guys are all gone now. They still have a good team that will be a challenge for us. We need to keep pace with the Tigers if we are going to make hay when we play them.

On to the game preview. This will be my first time seeing Carlos Torres in a Major League uniform. I watched him pitch twice this season for the Charlotte Knights. He gave up five runs in 4 1/3 innings the first time in Toledo taking the loss. The second outing was much better. In Louisville he pitched six innings only giving up two runs getting the win. He has been up and down this season. Lets hope he is up tonight. For the Athletics we have Brett Tomko on the mound. The last time that I saw Brett pitch was that crazy mother’s day game back in 2003. He gave up nine runs on nine hits in 3 2/3 innings with the wind blowing straight out at close to 40 mph. He was saved the bump in ERA by the game being called. This game has the possibility to turn into a high scoring affair. Let’s hope the right guys come out on top.

Since we are playing the Athletics check out one of my favorite sites to look in on on the internet. Taste Like Dirt Baseball is run by a man who loves his team (the A’s) and loves to take pictures. This sounds a lot like someone I know. He has some great shots on there. Give it a look. Heck add it as a favorite.

Leave a Reply

