Buehrle Finally Gets Another Win


Mark Buehrle has been winless since he pitched his perfect game in July. I have been to a couple of his games, and he has pitched good enough to win a few, but without any support. Today he got that support from his teammates. I got to the stadium early in case they were having batting practice only to find out that they were not. I used that time to look around the stadium a bit. As soon as I walked into the stadium I noticed a crowd watching Dice K getting some work in on the right field grass. I stopped and watched him pitch for a while before moving on. I used my trick to get into the lower deck to see the new Thome plaque in center. I have been to a couple of games since they put it in, but I always forget to check it out. While I was out there I noticed that nothing was going on in the center field deck. I grabbed a couple hot dogs (they were only $1 today) and sat up there for most of the pre game. I figured since Boston was in town that it would be a sell out so I decided to get to my seat behind the plate. I tried to go up through the fundamentals deck, but I was told that if you do not have a kid you can’t go up. The guy asked me in a weird tone why any adult would want up there anyway? I told him that I just wanted to get to my upper deck seat, and he said to use the ramp like everyone else. I got to my seat seven rows up right behind the plate excited for the game. That is until I realized that right in front of me is where everyone stops while they are trying to find their seats. This will not work for a guy who takes pictures. I watched the last part of the top of the first from the tunnel before sprinting back downstairs. I finally settled in near the right field foul pole with a great view of the bullpen.

As far as the game was concerned the Red Sox got a run in the first thanks to the speed of Jacoby Ellsbury. He led off with a hit, stole second, moved to third on a Victor Martinez groundout, and then scored on a Kevin Youkilis hit. He really adds a unique dimension to this Red Sox team. The good news for the White Sox was that the run scored in the first would be the last for the Red Sox. The White Sox stranded leadoff runners in the first two innings before scoring three in the third. Mark Kotsay had the big hit of the inning scoring two with a base hit to center. He was thrown out at home to end the inning trying to go from first to home on a Carlos Quentin hit. The Sox added two more runs in the eighth on a Carlos Quentin home run. That ball rocketed into the stands. Quentin has now homered in the last three games that I attended. Maybe Brian Anderson’s mojo moved over to Carlos when he was traded. Scotty Pods had another good day at the plate. He was on base three of the four times he came up scoring a run. He really has done alright in the games I have attended this season. The bullpen pitched two innings today without giving up a hit. That is what we need if we are going to pull this miracle off. We still have six games left with Detroit so I have not thrown in the towel yet.

One of the cool things about my acquired seats at the park was the fact that I was able to watch the bullpen as well. I saw Pena and Thornton warming up before coming into the game. I was also able to get my first look at Daniel Hudson pitching as he was throwing in the pen at one point. Hudson is shown to the left. He threw with Johnny Nunez while the Sox were batting in the seventh. Thornton and Pena were warming up, but quit for that half inning. They kicked the young kids off the mound once the Red Sox came back up to the plate. I was also able to see Bobby Jenks and D.J. Carrasco warm up in the bottom of the eighth. Bobby watched Quentin’s shot land in the bullpen, and then walked back into his spot in the bullpen. He knew he was no longer needed. I may have to sit here again tomorrow. These were great seats that almost netted me a foul ball.
4 thoughts on “Buehrle Finally Gets Another Win

  1. May I use that shot of Hudson for a custom card? He pitched two innings and I can't find one picture of him. Every source I use only shows the same players, game after game. I'm having trouble with the September call-ups and the recent acquisitions.Of course, you will get credit for the photo.

Leave a Reply

