This Day In CSD History: 6/6/2003 Red Sox at Brewers


Six years ago today I made my first journey to Miller Park. I would be going next weekend to see the Sox play there, but it was added to this year’s roadtrip in July. That day in 2003 was memorable. It was for one reason because I was listening to Roger Clemens pitch against the Cubs at Wrigley the entire way up to Milwaukee. Another reason that it was memorable was that it was raining cats and dogs most of the trip. One great thing about Miller Park though is that they can close the roof, and you still have a game to see. The one regret that I have about my visit to Miller Park was the fact that it was raining so hard that I really did not tour the outside very much. I basically parked, and then ran inside. This year’s trip will let me see the stadium like I should have seen it a few years ago.

The game itself was a great one to watch. Tim Wakefield got the start for the Red Sox. He only pitched two innings, striking out four before leaving the game due to injury. The Brewers went ahead 3-0 in the second on homers by Wes Helms and Royce Clayton. In the fifth the Red Sox scored two runs, and then tied the game in the sixth on a Manny Ramirez home run. The Brewers put the game away in the bottom of the inning scoring five runs. The highlight of that inning was Richie Sexson hitting a bomb off of the centerfield scoreboard to provide what would be the game winning run. That may be the longest home run I have ever seen in person. The next inning Scott Podsednik (yes, the very same one) reached on a single (his only time on base all day), and then scored on a Geoff Jenkins double. The Brewers won the game, and sent the many Red Sox fans who made the trip home unhappy.
Leave a Reply

