Meet the Newest Member of the White Sox


I guess that the Sox just signed Jayson Nix to a contract. Here is what I have been able to find out about him so far. I never had heard of Nix before so I had to do some digging. It turns out Nix was the starting second basemen for the Rockies at the start of the season. He lost his job, and was then sent down to Triple A where he played well. He went overseas to be a part of the Olympic team. He hit a home run against Cuba, but in the eleventh inning of that game fouled a ball off of his right eye. He had to leave the game, and did not play again in Beijing. He is not projected to be an everyday second baseman, so where does that leave him? From the little I have seen online that would mean the end of Juan Uribe in Chicago. Of course we thought that last off season as well. In the past couple of days I have heard some other interesting info about the Sox. They made it official that they would not pick up the option on Griffey’s contract. That was pretty much a given. The interesting thing that I heard again is the talk of the Chone Figgins for Paul Konerko deal again. I love Pauly, but I think that game #163 last year was the last time that I will see him in a Sox uniform. He does have a no trade clause, so he can always Nix the trade. See what I did there?

Leave a Reply

