Baseball Legends: George Brett


George Brett was a fiery player that gave his all every day on the field. I am probably like most people that have the image of Brett storming out of the dugout after being called out during the “pine tar incident” ingrained in my mind. That one incident gave him the reputation of a hot head. He just did not like losing anything. I am one person that can relate to that. I read a quote of his online while researching the article that I completely agree with. He said, “If a tie is like kissing your sister, losing is like kissing your grandmother with her teeth out.”
The picture to the left was taken in 2005 of the Brett statue at Kaufmann Stadium. I was there to see the Sox take on the Royals, but still took some time to honor Brett. That same year I met Steve Garvey at the Bob Feller museum, and had him sign my little league bat which was a Garvey model. The handle of the bat had split, and Garvey asked me what happened to it. I told him that I was pretending to be George Brett that day. That sparked a small conversation that upset some of the other people in line. I have always admired Brett for his will to win.
As you can tell by the amount of posts the last couple of days I have not been feeling very well. I must have caught whatever is going around lately. That along with the sub par weather has given me time to write a little. Why don’t you go visit the Baseball Legends site? Are you going to deny a sick man his request? Visit the site already.

Leave a Reply

