Baseball Legends: Yogi Berra


Yet another post of mine is up at Baseball Legends. Today’s athlete is none other than Yogi Berra. He is one of those guys that you may know more from his off the field exploits, then from his on the field deeds. He is probably most well known for his Yogiisms. His quotes will be around forever, but in looking into his career I found one about him that I thought was great. It was from his former manager Casey Stengal who said “He’d fall in a sewer and come up with a gold watch.” Stengal was referring to the fact that almost everything that Berra touched turned to gold. He went to the World Series 14 out of the 20 years that he played winning 10. That is amazing to me. I have lived near a city where the teams had not won since 1908 and 1917 until a couple of years ago. That kind of dominance is unheard of. In this day and age of free agency I don’t think that I will ever see a team have a run like that. That’s too bad. The White Sox could really use one of those.
Did I mention that you should go check out Baseball Legends? The traffic on the site spiked on tax day thanks to a mention on Deadspin.com. The site had its best day of 742 views. I would like to think that my constant pleading to check it out was the reason, but I think the Deadspin mention was the major factor.

Leave a Reply

