Carlton Fisk Countdown: #17


I know what you are saying. Four cards? Isn’t that going too far? I just love the progression of these cards. These are the cards made by Topps of Carlton in 1981. You have the regular issue 1981 Topps card of Carlton. The card was made before Carlton signed with the White Sox so he is shown as a member of the Red Sox. The second card is the O-Pee-Chee card from 1981 that was made a little later. They changed the name of the team on the hat to the White Sox, and put the White Sox border on the card. It also has the all too common baseball card phrase “now with White Sox” on it. I never knew this card existed until I received it in a lot on eBay. I love the french writing on the card to say that he is an all star. The next card in the progression is the 1981 Topps Traded card of Fisk. He is shown in his White Sox uniform with the appropriate border. I have always known about this card, but could never find it. Back when I collected you had to buy what you could find at card shows (rare around here), or at the local dealers (who have since packed up). Thanks to the beauty of the internet I now own two of these beauties. For a while growing up this card was the Holy Grail. I ordered one by itself, and received one in a lot of all the Sox traded cards that came out that year. I ordered that lot a couple of years ago and forgot that I had it. So of course I found them right after I ordered the other card online. I guess thats how it goes sometimes. The final card in the lineup was made in 2001. It is a Topps T100 reprint, and at the bottom it says 1 of 45. If that is the case it is a very rare card. I bought it for under a buck on the Beckett Marketplace though so either the demand is slim, or the writing on the card is wrong. The card was part of a year long celebration to mark the 50th anniversary of Topps. It as is the regular issue card is very sharp looking.
So there you have it. You have seen how the 1981 Topps card of Carlton went through its metamorphosis. Maybe in 2051 Topps will have another reprint set of the card that will make someones blog. I hope I am around to see it.

Leave a Reply

