Opening Day!


Alright I know the season is a week old, but the Sox open up at home today. Thanks to a generous vendor I will be at the game. This will be the first time for me at a game with the bunting up. I feel like a damn little kid this morning waiting to open my presents. Part of that excitement may be due to the Sox play this past week.
I had no clue that I would be seeing a Sox game six games into this season and we were 4-2. With the two teams that we were facing to start the season I thought that we would have a losing record at least. Opening the season by losing the first two games only added to my fears. We then won the last game in Cleveland, and swept the Tigers. We are now tied atop the Central with the Royals. Yes the Royals are 4-2. They swept the Tigers, and then won one of three against the Twins. Here is how the Central breaks down after the first week of the season:
White Sox (4-2)
Royals (4-2)
Indians (3-3)
Twins (3-4)
Tigers (0-6)
I know it is early, but who would have ever thought that the Tigers would be winless at this point of the season. They have today off, then they leave home and start a three game series in Boston. Maybe the Central is not a two team race after all.
Today Javier Vazquez goes up against Nick Blackburn. This sort of worries me. The Sox typically do not do well against pitchers that they have not seen before. Blackburn took the loss in his first start, but only allowed run run in seven innings. Maybe we can break the curse of the new pitcher today and get the win. I am looking forward to seeing the new Sox players in person for the first time. I will probably get home late because we are stopping to watch the NCAA game on the way home so my report on the game will probably have to happen tomorrow after work.

Leave a Reply

