My Favorite Games: #2


Two days after the Barrett sucker punch game I drove the 50 minutes back to Comiskey to watch another White Sox game. This game was special because it was the first time that Frank Thomas returned to Chicago since he left the team that winter. Anyone who knows me knows that I had a love hate relationship with the Big Hurt. For some reason at the end of his stay in Chicago I thought he was doing more harm than good. I even pointed out to anyone who would listen in 2005 that it was no coincidence that in his absence the Sox played better. That being said he is probably one of the greatest ball players that I will ever see, and I am proud that he wore a White Sox uniform. I hope that one day when he is enshrined into Cooperstown he will be wearing a Sox hat. They say that absence makes the heart grow fonder so I actually found two tickets to each game of the series on eBay for under $20 with shipping. The seats were in the upper deck on the first base side, but I like the view and ended up sitting here for some more games that year. One of which is on the countdown already.
On to the game. Jon Garland (who we can greet this year as a member of the Angels) had the daunting task of facing the Big Hurt. Frank came up to the plate to lead off the top of the second, and the ovation was so great that the game actually was stopped. Frank then put us in our seats by hitting a shot to left. The picture below (although bad detail) shows that home run swing. In a way I was glad that he hit the home run, but he was also the enemy now. When he came up to the plate the next time the crowd booed him mercilessly. Such is the nature of Chicago fans. I like you until you do something to hurt our team. It didn’t matter though. Thomas hit another home run. He ended up going 3-5 on the day. Everything so far would be enough for this game to be on the countdown, but wait there is more. The Sox were down 4-1 going in to the bottom of the eighth inning. Jermaine Dye hit a solo shot to get us a little closer. Uribe then hit a double. The tying run would now come to the plate against A’s closer Huston Street. Rob Mackowiak pinch hit for Brian Anderson and hit a two run homer to tie the game. I went crazy. Rob was not a home run hitter, and the ball barely made it over the right field fence. The whole flight of the baseball had me yelling for it to go. Anther two out miracle for the Sox. In the tenth A.J. walked, and advanced to third on an hit by Rob Mackowiak. Pablo Ozuna with two outs bunted the ball down the first base line and beat out the throw. A.J. scored, and the crowd could go home happy. This was one of those games that I thought I would never see again. I thought to myself what could possibly top this. It would take something extra, extra special to knock this game down a rung.
Some games on this countdown I had to rely on outside sources to make sure that some details were correct. This was one game that was written solely on memory. It is etched in there, until another great event knocks it out.

Leave a Reply

