This Is Why I Am the Sports Junkie


Yesterday I had tickets to the Women’s NCAA Tournament. That is four games in one day. Enough to make anyone tired. Not the sports junkie. During the break in between sessions yesterday I walked over to the baseball field to watch Purdue take on Western Illinois. I walked into the game in the bottom of the fourth. At that point they weren’t charging to get in so it worked out okay for me. Little did I know how long that inning would last. Purdue put 12 runs on the board that inning. I watched most of that inning from the area in between the Purdue dugout and home plate. I decided to sit down to take some pictures. The batter after I sat down was LaPorte’s own Nick Overmeyer. He promptly hit a single to left with the bases loaded to drive in two runs. He is the starting shortstop on the team. The air was cool, but the sun made it feel great. As soon as I got comfortable the clouds rolled in. It got cool quick, and then the snow started. It was the bottom of the seventh when I decided that I was dressed to watch events inside and went back to Mackey. The little bit of baseball that I watched with the sun out made me long for summer.

Leave a Reply

