Carlton Fisk Countdown: #38


Today I am celebrating the 25th anniversary of the 1983 White Sox season. I had trouble picking out one of these cards. All three were in the initial cut for this list. I couldn’t figure out why. I think in my mind though each of these cards represents that magical year of 1983. That year the Sox lost the first three games of the season. They were eight games under .500 by the end of May. This team was headed for a bad season. They turned it around by the All Star break though, and entered the break only 3.5 games out of first place. They were ‘winning ugly’, and the city embraced them. They finished the season 99-63 and won the division by 20 games. I still remember the moment of Julio Cruz jumping on home plate to clinch the division. The White Sox would be in the playoffs for the first time since 1959! Lamarr Hoyt won game one of the ALCS, but the Sox dropped the next three to the Orioles. In the last game Britt Burns pitched 9 shutout innings before losing the game in the 10th. Tony Larussa won manager of the year. Lamarr Hoyt won the Cy Young that year as well. Local boy Ron Kittle won the Rookie of the Year, and was also selected to play in the All Star Game which was held at Comiskey Park. There are many reasons that the year 1983 will stick in my brain.
Even after winning a couple of titles in ’93 and ’00 this was always the one that I would remember. The magic of 2005 would move this down a bit in my memory, but the year 1983 will always hold a special place for me. Not only was it the first year that I was able to see my team in the postseason, but it was the year that I got my brother. That year will always be special to me.

Leave a Reply

