Women’s Tournament Picks


The women had their tourney seeding released today. Here are my picks for this years tournament. Just like on the mens side I scanned my bracket in and posted it above. I don’t know as much about the women as I do the men, but I do know that the disparity between the good and the bad teams on the women’s side is much greater. Usually you can pick the higher seeded team and you will do fine.
Here is who I think will win in the first round:
UConn
Minnesota
Old Dominion
Virginia
George Washington
Cal
Iowa State
Rutgers
Maryland
Nebraska
West Virginia
Vanderbilt
Pitt
Baylor
UTEP
Stanford
North Carolina
Georgia
Kansas State
Louisville
Ohio State
Oklahoma State
DePaul
LSU
Tennessee
Purdue (obvious homer pick)
Notre Dame
Oklahoma
Arizona State
Duke
Syracuse
Texas A&M

Here are the teams that will be in the sweet sixteen:
UConn
Virginia
Cal
Rutgers
Maryland
W. Virginia
Baylor
Stanford
North Carolina
Louisville
LSU
Ohio State
Tennessee
Notre Dame
Duke
Texas A&M

Here is my take on the elite eight games:
UConn will beat Virginia by 10+
Rutgers does the same with Cal
Maryland starters get plenty of rest against W. Virginia
Stanford barely gets by Baylor
N. Carolina whips Louisville
Ohio State with Star Allen back make it close against LSU
Tennessee pulls away late from Notre Dame
Duke pulls the upset over Texas A&M

Here is how I think the final four will break down:
North Carolina beats LSU
Tennessee beats Duke
Stanford takes down Maryland
UConn pulls it out against Rutgers

Here is what will happen in Tampa:
UConn beats Stanford by 10+
Tennessee wins a close game against UNC
UConn wins when their freshman sensation takes over the game. Parker has a rough last game.

I have tickets for the first two rounds of the tournament that will be played in West Lafayette. I have one team that I have picked in this bracket that I know will probably not win, but who knows? They somehow got in by winning the Big Ten Tournament. Anything can happen. Both teams that I hold season tickets for will be in West Lafayette this weekend. Notre Dame is a 5 seed playing #12 SMU. They have a good chance to win the first round game. Purdue is ranked I think too high at a #9 seed, but that gives them #8 Utah in the first round. That will be a tough game for the Lady Boilers. Maybe they can use the home court advantage to lead them to victory. Next year the Irish will host the first round, and the final four will be in St. Louis. I think both Notre Dame and Purdue will have a shot to be there with who they have coming back.

Leave a Reply

