Men’s NCAA Tournament Forecast


I have posted my bracket for the NCAA tournament above. I have a good feeling about my bracket so that means that I will do horribly. Last year I did not know too much about many of the teams, and I did great. This year I actually looked at it a bit and picked some upsets. That will be my undoing. I also am having trouble distancing myself from Purdue and Notre Dame. I have Purdue winning two games, and the Irish winning three even though I know it will be tough for them to do so. Watching the Big Ten all year has really made me biased towards them. I have all of the four teams winning the first round games. I am really on the fence about IU. I don’t know what team will show up. If it is the inspired team that played when the Sampson deal went on I think that they could make a lot of noise. I would say that North Carolina should be worried. If it is the team that got beat by Minnesota in the Big Ten Tourney then I don’t know what to think of them. Here are the teams that will win in the first round:
North Carolina
Indiana
Notre Dame
Washington State
St. Joseph’s
Louisville
Butler
Tennessee
Kansas
UNLV
Clemson
Vanderbilt
Kansas State
Wisconsin
Gonzaga
Georgetown
Memphis
Oregon
Michigan State
Pitt
Marquette
Stanford
Miami
Texas
UCLA
BYU
Drake
UConn
Purdue
Xavier
Arizona
Duke

Here are the teams that I think will make the sweet sixteen:
North Carolina
Notre Dame
Louisville
Tennessee
Kansas
Clemson
Wisconsin
Georgetown
Memphis
Pitt
Marquette
Texas
UCLA
UConn
Purdue
Duke

Here are the elite eight teams:
North Carolina – They beat Notre Dame easily to move on
Tennessee – Most of the experts pick Louisville beating Tennessee in this one. I think that the Vols will prove them wrong.
Kansas – They beat Clemson by eight to move on.
Wisconsin – They use defense to take out Georgetown.
Pitt – They take care of Michigan State with free throws at the end. Then beat Memphis.
Texas – The beat Miami easily, then take out Marquette.
UCLA – They take care of UConn/Drake (still on the fence there)
Duke – They win a match up of two teams that will square off again next year in the Big Ten/ ACC Challenge.

Here is my final four:
North Carolina – They win a shootout with the Vols.
Kansas – Wisconsin’s run ends here. The Jayhawks are too talented.
Texas – Pitt could win this one and end up in the final four, but Texas is too deep.
UCLA – The Dukies can go home early.

San Antonio Picks:
Kansas will take care of North Carolina
UCLA will take care of Texas
Kansas will be the National Champion

All of this is a crapshoot. One upset could change this entire bracket. I did the bracketcaster on ESPN.com after I picked my bracket for some reassurance. I was happy with the result, but not because it proved my bracket. It actually had Purdue winning the title. It had all my final four picks except UCLA. Purdue beat UCLA in the battle of the Wooden’s. It then had Purdue beating Texas and then Kansas to win it all. I will look stupid by Friday I guarantee you. I will have had two bad opening days, and I will be ready to rip up this bracket.

By the way if you want to match wits against the sports junkie I have created a group on ESPN.com. The group is Confessions of a Sports Junkie, and the password is Yo. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

