My Favorite Games: #16


Today’s game would be a lot higher, probably fifteen spots higher if I would have gone the day before. The game was played on Thursday April 19th, 2007. The day before Mark Buehrle threw a no-hitter. I chose to go to this game because it was Polish-American night, and also because I had a ticket to the Notre Dame – Purdue baseball game on Wednesday night. Both pitchers in the college game took no-hitters into the eighth, and the crowd only saw two hits in regulation. The Irish ended up winning in the 10th inning, and I was happy that I was able to see the game. On the way home I listened to the Score and found out that Mark was pitching a great game. I was able to watch the last three innings after speeding home, and sat next to my dad when Gerald Laird made the final out. I looked over to him and said something to the effect that we missed it by a day.
Anyway on to the game that we saw. We are a Polish family so I thought that would take my dad to Polish-American night. We had a great time before the game listening to the Polka music outside the stadium. The game could not have been scripted any better. A.J. Pierzynski and Rob Mackowiak hit home runs for the White Sox. They accounted for five of the six runs that the White Sox scored. They won the game 6-4 with Bobby Jenks getting the save. Former White Sox player Sammy Sosa also hit career home run #692 in the second innings. The Sox finally posted the date for this year’s Polish-American night. We will definitely have to go.

Leave a Reply

