Carlton Fisk Countdown: #45


Today we have come to the 1985 Topps card of Carlton Fisk. 1985 was a special year for me. It was the year that I attended my first Sox game. My dad bought some tickets and took me to Comiskey Park. The date was August 25th, 1985. In the last few years I have tried to get to the park on August 25th, but many things have gotten in the way. That day the Sox played the Blue Jays and won 5-3. After seeing my team in person I went on a binge when school started that Monday. I traded for any Sox card I could get my hands on. This was one of them that I was going for. Back then everyone else at school seemed to like the Red Sox, Mets, Yankees, Cubs, and Tigers. So if you look back at my collection you will see a shortage of cards from that time period. I took all my cards to school in my brand new White Sox cloth backpack that they were giving away at the stadium that August day. The backpack lasted one day before the stitches came loose and the pack fell off of my back onto Indiana Avenue. We tried to repair it, but it was a giveaway and not very stable. This was the year that my obsession with the Sox really took off. It is fitting that 20 years later I would be able to see my team win the world series. Maybe in 2025 they will win it again for me. I will be 49 years old, and ready to see them win it again.
We had a little pre game incident before my first game, but that story will have to wait for another post. I would guess that you will have to wait about a month and a half for that story.

Leave a Reply

