My Favorite Games: #18


Today I chose two game for this list. They were seen on back to back days in 2004. I was working in Iowa and needed some time for myself. I got in my car on a Saturday morning and drove up to Minneapolis. My first stop of the day was to Siebert Field to watch the Minnesota Golden Gopher baseball team play a doubleheader against Ohio State. From there I went to the Metrodome to see the White Sox play the Twins. I was very excited to go to the Metrodome for the first time. I have seen it on TV since I was a kid, and I always thought the place looked awesome. When I walked in I was not disappointed. I was also excited to see Brad Radke pitch again. It seemed like if I was going to see the Twins play that Radke was the pitcher. I should not have been happy to see him that day though. He pitched seven strong innings only giving up one run and striking out 5. The Twins won 9-1. Matt LeCroy and a young man named Justin Morneau hit home runs for the Twins. I sat in the bleachers in center for the game. You can see my view in the first picture below.
The second game was played the next day. The pitching matchup was Johan Santana versus Jon Garland. Looking at the pitchers you would expect a much different game than what I saw. The Sox tagged Santana for 7 runs in 3+ innings. They added another 10 off the other six pitchers that were brought in to win 17-7. This outburst against Santana was even more impressive when you think that after this start he did not give up a run for about a year. That may be exaggerating, but he went on a long scoreless streak after this. Nobody could touch him. Carlos Lee led the way for the Sox going 4 for 5 with a run scored and six RBI’s. Aaron Rowand collected four hits, drove in four, and scored three runs. After the game I went to the Hard Rock Cafe and had dinner to waste some time. After eating I went across the street to the Target Center to watch game 2 of the Western Conference finals between the Lakers and the Timberwolves. I went from being cooped up doing nothing to having a busy weeked. May 22nd and 23rd of 2004 will always hold a special place for me. I had a great time in Minneapolis that weekend.

Leave a Reply

