Carlton Fisk Countdown: #53


Today’s card is really not a baseball card. It is a 1991 U.S. Playing Card Co. 2 of diamonds of the Hall of Famer. This card has no sentimental value. The picture on the card is really not that great. This card is on here because once again I never knew about it until recently, and it is not your typical card. At the beginning of the 90’s Fisk was probably at his most popular nationwide. He was always known for his homer in ’75, but just before his retirement he was in almost every oddball set that was made. I am just know realizing how many cards that was. I thought I had most of them when I was younger, but I now know that what I possessed was just the tip of the iceberg. The picture on the card was taken during the ’91 season as well because those are the brand new seats in what is now known as U.S. Cellular Field. He even has the patch on his sleeve commemorating the inaugural year of the park.

Leave a Reply

