NASCAR Preview Try #2


Last year I tried to forecast the NASCAR season, but missed on a few counts. This year I will once again try and prove that I really don’t know much about the sport anymore. After an entire off season of waiting today we will finally get to see Dale Jr. in his first points race for Hendrick Motorsports. I think the switch to Hendrick will be what he needs to get back into the chase. Here are the twelve drivers that I think will make the chase this year:

  1. Jeff Gordon
  2. Jimmie Johnson
  3. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  4. Casey Mears
  5. Carl Edwards
  6. Tony Stewart
  7. Kyle Busch
  8. Kurt Busch
  9. Kevin Harvick
  10. Matt Kenseth
  11. Jeff Burton
  12. Brian Vickers

As you can see a couple big names are not included, and I have put a couple in there that maybe shouldn’t be. I think that Vickers is a good driver, and he will be my sleeper pick to make the chase. Greg Biffle is my pick to be the biggest name to miss the chase this year. I had to pick someone, and I don’t care for Greg so he was the one. Pretty scientific, huh? Who will win the chase? Whoever is hottest for ten races. I really think that Gordon learned something last year, and will come out firing this year for wins. That being said I don’t know how you can bet against Johnson getting the three-peat.

Rookie of the Year will go to Regan Smith because I just don’t have the faith in the other two teams that have rookies going. They are both great open wheel drivers, but I don’t think that they will be in enough races to win the award. Both Villeneuve and Carpentier missed the 500, and that puts them in a big hole just to make races the rest of the year. Ask Brian Vickers what that did to his season last year.

I will also make one bold prediction for 2008. I will attend at least one NASCAR race this year. I was supposed to go to Bristol this spring, but that fell through. Maybe it is time to find a new track to see a race at. Martinsville or Richmond sound good right about now. I guess we will have to wait and see on that one.

Leave a Reply

