Great Day to Be a Boiler


I spent the day down on the campus of Purdue today enjoying both men’s and women’s basketball. I went to BW3’s at noon to watch a taping of the Matt Painter show. I really just wanted an excuse to eat some wings, but I really enjoyed watching the show. I do not get the Big Ten Network so besides last week’s show which was shown on Purdue’s website I have not seen one this year. I had a great time, and hopefully I will be able to see myself on TV when it airs.
Tonight I went to the women’s game against #19 Ohio State. I thought we were home free when Jessica Davenport graduated last year. I was wrong. They have a freshman named Jantel Lavender that just lit us up today. She scored 30 points to lead her team. The one knock that I could throw against her is that her defense is not as good as Davenport’s. I hope that I can continue to say that in the years to come. Purdue was down by 14 early in the first half, and I was already thinking about how I could get home early and get some sleep. FahKara Malone then put the team on her back and the Boilers pulled within four at the half. We actually had a seven point lead in the second half thanks to Malone and Danielle Campbell who scored 18 points and grabbed 11 rebounds. They put Purdue in a position to win the game. It was fitting though with about 19 seconds left that Kiki Freeman made the game winning basket. She had a rough night before that, and helped pull out a win for the Boilermakers. Ohio State then had about ten seconds to win the game after a timeout, but France picked off a pass under the basket to seal the win for Purdue. The 68-67 victory kept Purdue in first place in the Big Ten. They are even with Iowa who they play next Thursday in Mackey on Valentine’s day. I don’t know if I will be able to be there, but it should be a good game.

Leave a Reply

