Purdue Boilermakers 52 – Toledo Rockets 24


Today I made my first trip to the Glass Bowl in Toledo to see Purdue play the Rockets of Toledo. The Boilermaker offense showed up tonight to make sure that my first trip to Klinger’s hometown would not be a sad one. Curtis Painter did not look like a three year starter, but he did get the job done. Dorien Bryant was close to breaking a couple of runs before he went down with a leg injury. He came back into the game and broke a 91 yard kick off return. The Boilers looked good tonight as a whole. I don’t know if that was because they have improved that much, or if Toledo is that bad. Next week they face a 1AA opponent so we probably won’t learn much then unless we pull a Michigan. The game against Central Michigan in two weeks will tell us a lot about the team. For now I am happy that the road trip ended in a win, and I had a good time. The Glass Bowl is a very nice stadium, and I would like to go back if I get the chance. On a side note LaPorte native Kris Staats was dressed for the game, and looked like he might even get in towards the end. I left with about four minutes left in the game, and he had still not made it in. Maybe we will see him if we handle Eastern Illinois next week.

Leave a Reply

