#1 Notre Dame 3 – Alaska 1


My first Notre Dame hockey game of the year was just the opposite of the last game I saw last year. Notre Dame was having a bad season, but hosted a three game CCHA playoff series with Alaska. I was at both games, and watched the Irish drop two straight 3-1, 1-0. This year the Irish are the #1 team in the country, and already claimed the regular season CCHA championship. The win tonight gave them 29, the most ever in a season in club history. This was a far cry from two years ago when Notre Dame was the worst team in the league. With the team playing well I could not get tickets to any of the last three series. I guess I just missed getting on the bandwagon. At the begining of the year I made a post on here about how excited I was for the season to start, but could not seem to get over to see them play. They look like a very exciting team, that could go a long way in the NCAA’s. They scored seven goals in the win last night, and 3 tonight. It is nice to see the team selling out games, and getting some attention. The sellout tonight was the 10th on the season. The Irish travel to Detroit next weekend for the final four of the CCHA championship. Then they will await the seeding for the probable NCAA berth. It should be an exciting two weeks for Notre Dame hockey.
On a side note, this was the second #1 ranked team that I had seen today. In the Big Ten Basketball Tournament I was able to see the #1 and #3 ranked teams in the country play. At night I saw the #1 ranked team in college hockey play. Not a bad day at all.

Leave a Reply

