Big Ten Women’s Tournament Day 2


Today was my second day at the Big Ten Tournament. At the gates entering Conseco the two girls that had security on their badges told me that I couldn’t take my camera in. I took my other camera in, and the battery quit almost immediately. I wasn’t allowed to leave so I tried to think of a way to get out of the stadium and back in. They were advertising a buy one ticket get one free deal so I asked at the ticket window if I could get my free ticket. They ended up giving me two free tickets to Sunday’s games. Just like at mullet night this year a bad situation was turned into a good one by the actions of the guest service personnel. Now that I have gone off topic, here are the games from today:

#2 Purdue 82 – #7 Wisconsin 79 OT
Wisconsin took an early lead, but Katie Gearlds took matters into her own hands before halftime to give Purdue the lead. Jolene Anderson picked up where she left off last night by scoring 27 to lead the Badgers. She hit the game tying shot as regulation ended. This Badger team will be tough in the future.

#3 Michigan State 77 – #6 Minnesota 66
Allyssa DeHaan scored 27 points and grabbed eight rebounds for the Spartans. She was truly unstoppable, and is only a freshman. She will be a tough matchup for the Boilers Sunday. She is 6’9″ tall, and is very mobile. She also has a very good shot.

#1 Ohio State 72 – #9 Indiana 60
Indiana was within five in the last four minutes, but let the game slip away from them. Jessica Davenport was her usual self scoring 30 points. 14 of those were from the free throw line. Star Allen had a double-double playing second fiddle to Davenport.

#5 Penn State 61 #4 Illinois 49
Amanda Brown scored 19 and pulled down 18 rebounds to lead Penn State to the only upset of the day. This game was also close down the stretch, but went the Nittany Lions way.

Time will tell if I use the free tickets on Sunday. You can only watch so much Women’s basketball before you cry uncle.

Leave a Reply

