Finally I Get Paid to Attend a Baseball Game


Last night I was in Gary to see the Railcats take on the Rockford RiverHawks. I went because it was money giveaway night. The first 1,000 fans through the gates received an envelope with money in it. The envelopes contained anywhere from $1 to $100. Do you want to guess what I got? You guessed it. $1. The only good thing about getting to the park early was the fact that they were taking batting practice when I walked in. I walked out to talk to the Railcat superfan in left field, and was rewarded with a home run off the bat of RiverHawk third baseman Evan McArthur.What a way to start the night. McArthur is shown above

Christian Guerrero won the game in the eighth with a single up the middle. It sounds exciting, but it was a far cry from his 5 home run performance the night before in a double header. Christian is shown above warming up before the first inning. The game also featured a home run by Jeff Beachum and a near home run by Tanner Townsend. Tanner hit a ball about twenty feet to my right. I got to the ball just as it hit the top of the wall and bounced back into play for a double. If I had been standing where I normally do the ball would have been in my hands. Of course my hands would then have been pinned against a steel rail. It is probably best that I didn’t get the ball. Beachum hit a ball that struck the foul pole just above my head.

Zeb Engle got his first career win last night after coming in for relief. He is pictured above. The strength of this team right now is the bullpen. Zeb is just one of many Railcats relievers that shuts down opponents. Jeff Williams and Andy Shipman were also brilliant last night. The bullpen faced ten batters, and set them all down in order. That is how you win Championships.

Leave a Reply

