csd Flashback: 12/24/2004


Almost five years ago I attended my first Packers game. I was stuck in the middle of Iowa around Christmas with no way to get home. I did however have a small window of time available on Christmas Eve. My favorite football team, the Green Bay Packers, was playing just north of me in Minneapolis. I had never been to a Packers game before so I thought this was perfect timing. I got a seat in the upper deck that was fairly affordable. After that it was a simple three hour drive up Interstate 35 to the Twin Cities. What better way to make the most of a broken Christmas then to get to see your favorite team for the first time?

This was an important game for both teams. The team that won would take the NFC North. Of course I went wearing my Green Bay gear. The fans were giving me a hard time, but it was all good natured. That is until the fourth quarter. With the game tied at 24 and about 8 minutes left on the clock Favre through a touchdown pass to Chris Claiborne. The problem with that was that Claiborne played for the Vikings. The Vikings fans around me started really getting on me at this point. Almost to the point that I was thinking about moving. It must feel really nice to gang up on an opposing fan sitting by himself. After the pick Favre drove the Packers down the field to set up a key fourth and goal play. Favre completed a pass to Donald Driver to tie the game at 31 with 3:34 left. Minnesota could do nothing with the ball, and gave it back to the Packers with 1:35 left on the clock. The problem was that the Packers had the ball on the 13 yard line. Brett took the team down the field to set up a potential game winning field goal by Ryan Longwell. The kick was good, and the Packers walked off the field winners. What followed the kick was perhaps the worst display of sportsmanship that I have ever displayed. I really let everyone around me know what the final score was. I ran out of the stadium screaming and yelling. It is a wonder that I did not get beat down. How could my first Packer game have ended any better? Favre working the two minute drill to win the game. It was definitely one to remember.

Fast forward five years to 2009. I am getting ready to head to Lambeau field for the first time this weekend. Who awaits me on the Vikings? Ryan Longwell. Yes the kicker that won the game for the Packers that day. Oh yeah, and Brett Favre. I always wanted to see Favre play in Lambeau. I thought that I missed my chance, but now I can rectify that mistake. He is just on the other team. I will cheer Favre when he is introduced for what he did as a member of my team. If (when) he does something good though I don’t know what I will do. Part of the intrigue of gameday is going to be seeing what the Green Bay faithful will do to Favre. The game on Sunday will be my 7th pro football game that I have been to. Six of those games have involved the Vikings. Most of that is due to the fact that I have a good friend that is a Viking fan. I will have to shift things back into the favor of my team someday, but for now I will enjoy this great game. I will have my prediction for the game tomorrow in the usual post. Look for me on Fox Sunday at 3:15. I will be the one acting crazy wearing green. I am sure that I will have plenty of posts next week documenting the trip.

4 thoughts on “csd Flashback: 12/24/2004

  1. I've never been to a pro game, but I'd love to see a game at Lambeau. I'm a Packers fan, and it would be nice to see Favre play there. Not gonna happen for me though. Really nice story. I don't know why some fans have to gang up on people. Disgraceful.

  2. I have not been to many pro games either. It seems as if everything is too expensive for what you get. I am pumped about Sunday though. The fans around me had better get ready for a lunatic.

  3. I just found your blog and was browsing the green bay posts (since their my favorite team also :] ) and im glad you had such a good first experience! I went to my first game last sunday in detroit against the lions and im sure you know how that ended…terrible. along with being stuck in the middle of michigan in that blizzard!

    • I really wanted to go to the game in Detroit, but was glad that I did not after it was over. Green Bay is a great time, and I can’t wait to go a second time.

Leave a Reply

